Estonian government has decided to temporarily reintroduce border controls on the whole border from 17th March 2020

The government has decided on the 15th March 2020 cabinet meeting to restrict crossing of the Schengen internal and external border temporarily and reintroduce border controls in order to contain the spread of the coronavirus.

Only citizens of Estonia and holders of Estonian residency permit or right of residence, among them the so-called grey passport holders can enter Estonia, as well as foreign citizens whose family member lives in Estonia. International cargo (also food and medical supplies transport) can enter the country, as well as persons providing vital services, like fuel providers. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19.

At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked. The border control will be reintroduced from 17th March 2020. The cabinet meeting has also supported the requirement of a two-week quarantine for everyone entering the country. The government recommends to avoid travel to other countries that might also implement quarantine measures.

There are no restrictions for exiting the country.

The temporary restriction of border crossing will be in force until decided otherwise and the necessity will be reviewed every two weeks.

Estonian residents who are having trouble returning home from abroad are advised to contact the consular assistance emergency helpline +372 53 01 9999 (24 h).


  • Information and FAQ from the Ministry of Foreign Affaires on Covid-19  (EST, ENG)
  • Information on emergency situation in Estonia (EST, ENG).